Classical Music

When I was younger, my Mom always took my siblings and me to classical music concerts and always played classical music records at home. Out of the three of us, at the time, I was the one who truly took on a love for many of the pieces. Although to this day I can never remember which is which. Still terrible with names.

She wanted us to have an appreciation for the arts. We didn’t find out till much later what it really was helping us with until all the studies came out.

When I was pregnant with both the Princess and Miss Sunshine, I played a lot of classical music. It soothed me and the baby inside. I played a lot of Bach, Mozart, Tchaikovsky (I love the 1812 overture and all the ballets) but especially Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. There were studies about it making the baby smarter, etc. I didn’t care, it was comfort and it seemed to calm the baby specifically when I was pregnant the second time which was Miss Sunshine.

When Miss Sunshine was an infant and extremely fussy in the car (we didn’t know she was exhibiting signs yet), I would put on Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and some how it would make some kind of a difference for her. She would hate the car less.

Since getting all of her diagnoses, she gets a bunch of OT, speech, Itinerant teacher, supposed to get behavior therapy (still working on it) but she still had her “off” times and she still HATES the car. I had not tried classical music in a long time. I figured with all we have been through, why not.

She usually tells me too loud! Turn off! hurt my ears! However, I figured on the way to school I would try it. We have one classical music station and thankfully they were playing something soft and mellow. We listened to the piece all the way to school. She sat in her chair without a fuss (amazing!) no high pitched screaming (amazing!) At first I thought perhaps she went catatonic on me for a couple of moments, which she is know to do but I touched her and she said “Yes, Mommy?” It was incredible!

We have done this several times since and sometimes we don’t have as pleasurable a ride. Sometimes she tells me to turn off the music her ears hurt as she is covering her ears and sometimes she is up to her old tricks of getting out of her seat.

However, a lot of the time Miss Sunshine not only sits in her seat but she talks to me. Not the greatest of conversations (the are usually about Burger King, Wendy’s or Webkinz) but she is saying something close to full sentences. Is it about Mozart and Bach? Perhaps classical music has another amazing use. Well, for Miss Sunshine anyway. 

2 Responses to “Classical Music”

  1. how to download free mp3 music Says:

    […] Little Miss Sunshine wrote an interesting post today on Classical MusicHere’s a quick excerptI had not tried classical music in a long time….We have one classical music station and thankfully they were playing something soft and mellow….When I was pregnant with both the Princess and Miss Sunshine, I played a lot of classical music. It soothed me and the baby inside….Perhaps classical music has another amazing use. Well, for Miss Sunshine anyway. … […]

  2. Donna Says:

    Hi there,
    It’s Donna (Kevin’s mom). Just found your blog…such a great idea and I’m sure it’s very therapeutic (no pun intended) to have a place to get your thoughts out.
    On the subject of music, music has been a big driving force in my little guys’ lives since they’ve been born. And since I’m a music junkie, it’s great for all of us. We have moved from Raffi – thanks goodness – to more sophistacted fare such as the Beatles, Motown, and occasionally, 70s dance music.
    But, it’s true music has soothed my “savage beasts” in the car, in the house, in line at the grocery store or waiting for the dr., all I have to say is, “what song do you want to sing?”
    And, I have to emphasis the word “sing” because about a year ago, we could barely get one word at a time out of him. Music has completely helped his language development and for that I am grateful!
    So, keep the hits coming!!!!!
    🙂 Donna

Leave a Reply

